Volunteer Leadership

2023-2024 Executive Committee Photo: (L-R) Gregory J. Sawko, Jessica DeRoche, Dr. Mary Curtis, Jan Rugg, Josh Ashford, Michael Ingle, Laura Behrens, Glen McKenzie, Mike Thomson, Melinda Galler, Gary Henderson, Micah Tannery. Not pictured: Sharon Garrett. Photography generously provided by Brittanie Nicole Photography.

2023 - 2024 Board of Directors

Comprised of volunteers from across Denton County elected to three-year terms, our Board of Directors is responsible for the governance, oversight and strategic direction of United Way of Denton County.

Executive Committee Officers

Ms. Laura Behrens, Board Chair, Sr. Administrative Coordinator, Donor Engagement & Advancement, University of North Texas

Ms. Micah Tannery, Immediate Past Board Chair, CTE Strategic Partnerships Liaison, Denton ISD

Mr. Michael Thomson, Board Chair-Elect, Fire Chief, City of Carrollton Fire Rescue

Dr. Mary Curtis, Board Treasurer, Certified Public Accountant, Retired, College of Business, University of North Texas

Ms. Jan Rugg, Campaign Co-Chair, Manager Public Affairs, Atmos Energy

Ms. Jessica DeRoche, Campaign Co-Chair, Associate Vice Chancellor of Campus Operations, North Central Texas College

Mr. Josh Ashford, Community Investments Co-Chair, Commercial Insurance Broker, Consolidated Insurance Markets

Mr. Glen McKenzie, Community Investments Committee Co-Chair, CEO, DATCU Credit Union

Ms. Melinda Galler, Marketing Chair, Retired, City of Lewisville

Mr. Michael Ingle, Partnership Development Chair, Founder CEO, SLUMBuR, Clean Sleep, & Ready Set Pour

Ms. Sharon Garrett, SecretaryCEO, Encompass Rehabilitation Hospital - Dallas

Mr. Gregory J. Sawko, Counsel, Attorney, Sawko & Burroughs, P.C.


Board Members

Ms. Rebecca Andreasen, Executive Vice President & Director of Property Management, Northbridge Management & Consulting

Ms. Joyce Brown, Retired, Abbott Laboratories 

Ms. Dawn Cobb, Director of Community Relations, Denton County

Mr. Curtis Cornelious, Senior Operations Engineer, Raytheon Technologies

Mr. Ray Croff, CEO & President, Mobius Financial Advisors

Mr. Frank Dixon, Assistant City Manager, City of Denton

Dr. Buddy Dunworth, Retired, Denton ISD

Mr. Andy Eads, County Judge, Denton County

Ms. Patrice Frisby, Director of Development - Major Gifts, Texas Woman's University

Dr. Linda Holloway, Professor Emerita, University of North Texas

Ms. Cynthia Hill, Officer, LULAC Chapter 4366

Mr. David Koontz, Executive Vice President Senior Credit Officer, Wells Fargo Bank

Ms. Mayra Molina, Director of Human Resources, Peterbilt Motors Company

Mr. Joe Perez, Deputy City Manager, The City of The Colony

Ms. Ann Pomykal, Retired, Texas Instruments

Dr. Lacey Rainey, Assistant Superintendent, Denton ISD

Mr. Andre "Frenchy" Rheault, Owner, Frenchy's Lawn and Tree Service

Ms. Nancie Rodems, Vice President Field Human Resources, Sally Beauty Holdings

Ms. Patricia Sherman, Vice President for Community Relations, DATCU Credit Union

Ms. Debbie Smatresk, Community Volunteer

Ms. April Cain Stokes, Owner, Merki & Associates


Board Portal


Lifetime Members

We proudly bestow the title of Life Member of United Way of Denton County to past board members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding board service. Our Lifetime Members listed below embody our mission, vision, and values at the highest level of improving and transforming lives throughout our community.

Dr. Dean Anthony, Community Volunteer

Mr. John Baines, Certified Public Accountant, John E. Baines, P.C.

Ms. Jo Ann Ballentine, Community Volunteer

Dr. Jack Becker, Retired, University of North Texas

Ms. Raedean Bolton, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Dr. Ray Braswell, Retired, Superintendent, Denton ISD

Dr. Derrell Bulls, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Paul Chandler, Retired, Banker

Ms. Carol Christian, Probate Auditor/Senior Paralegal, Denton County Probate Court

Mr. Tony Clark, Retired, President, Independent Bank

Mr. Tim Crouch, The Crouch Group

Mr. Pat Dacus, Owner, Pat Dacus Insurance

Dr. Sheri L. Dragoo, Chair, Mary Gibbs Jones Endowed Department, Baylor University

Mr. Lyle Dresher, District Liaison, Texas House of Representatives District 64

Mr. Walter Eagleton, Owner, Eagleton Photography

Mr. Chuck Engle, Retired, Sally Beauty

Mr. Jerry Falbo, Senior Executive Pastor, Denton Bible Church

Mr. Phil Gallivan, Retired, Banker

Dr. Jared Hazleton, Retired, University of North Texas

Mr. George Highfill, Executive Vice President, Access 1st Capital Bank

Mr. Richard Huckaby, Instructor, North Central Texas College

Mr. Dale Kimble, Retired, DATCU Credit Union

Ms. Kit King, Community Volunteer

Mr. Brett Kuhn, Executive Vice President - Pilot Point, Texas Republic Bank

Ms. Uarline Lamb, Community Volunteer

Mr. Jim Lehman, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Brandon McCleskey, Senior Vice President & Market President, First State Bank

Ms. Mary Ann McDuff, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Mark Merki, Retired, Merki & Associates

Mr. Stan Morton, FACHE, Chief Executive Officer, Metro Anesthesia

Ms. Ellen M. Painter, Retired, Community Relations - Contractor, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton

Mr. Bill Patterson, Publisher and Owner, Denton Record-Chronicle

Ms. Connie Pelphrey, Retired, Executive Director, Lewisville ISD Education Foundation

Mr. Todd Price, Senior Vice President, Lending, First State Bank

Mr. Marty Rivers, Denton Market President, American National Bank & Trust

Mr. Randy Robinson, President - Denton Market, PointBank

Ms. Priscilla Sanders, Community Volunteer, Retired - Sears, Roebuck and Company

Mr. Gregory J. Sawko, Attorney, Sawko & Burroughs, P.C.

Mr. Rob Seay, Certified Public Accountant, Hankins, Eastup, Deaton, Tonn and Seay

Ms. Carrell Ann Simmons, Retired, Banker

Mr. Dennis Stephens, Retired, Denton ISD

Ms. Joye Williams, Community Volunteer