Eight Volunteers Added to Board

2024 board additions

(First Row L-R: Sophia Anwar, Michelle Cree, Judy Ensweiler, Mike Martinez; Second Row L-R: Dr. Teresa McKinney, Claire Powell, Dr. Lacey Rainey, Scott Wrehe)

We proudly welcomed eight new community volunteers to our Board of Directors for the 2024-25 fiscal year: Sophia Anwar (State Rep. Bhojani), Michelle Cree (community volunteer), Judy Ensweiler (City of The Colony), Mike Martinez (CTDI), Dr. Teresa McKinney (UNT), Claire Powell (City of Lewisville), Dr. Lacey Rainey (Denton ISD), and Scott Wrehe (Lewisville ISD).  

“We are excited to add this critical set of diverse skills and perspectives to our board room,” said Gary Henderson, President and CEO of United Way of Denton County. “This group joins a team of committed volunteers from a variety of businesses and geographic regions dedicated to building a better Denton County where everyone has the opportunity to succeed and thrive.” 

Sophia Anwar of The Colony serves as the State Representative Salman Bhojani's Chief of Staff. Recipient of the Dr. Bettye Myers Humanitarian Award in 2022 with her husband Brian, Michelle Cree of Highland Village is a philanthropist and community volunteer. Serving as a council member in the City of The Colony, Judy Ensweiler and her husband Dick were the 2023 Dancing with Our Stars Champions at UNITED Tribute. CTDI Director Mike Martinez of Flower Mound began volunteering with UWDC’s free tax program VITA in 2023. The Executive Liaison for Police & Emergency Management at the University of North Texas (UNT), Dr. Teresa McKinney of Denton, is returning to the United Way of Denton County board now that she’s back in the community. Claire Powell is the city manager for the City of Lewisville and believes United Way of Denton County is an entity that helps to bind the county together. Denton ISD Assistant Superintendent Dr. Lacey Rainey has been involved with United Way of Denton County since 2019 as a volunteer, recently serving as UNITED Tribute Chair. Finally, Scott Wrehe has 26 years of school district experience in Lewisville ISD, including 14 years as a Chief Financial Officer.  

“I love the organization’s purpose and how the assistance provided to Denton County through United Way is far-reaching,” said Dr. Rainey. Powell added, “If I am going to be a part of something, I want to know I will have an impact. I feel that is possible with United Way of Denton County.”

On the 2024-25 United Way of Denton County Executive Committee, Mike Thompson (Carrollton Fire Chief) inherits the gavel as Board Chair. Other Executive changes include Laura Behrens (UNT) as immediate past Board Chair, Jessica DeRoche (NCTC) as a Board Chair Elect and a Campaign Co-Chair with Micah Tannery (Denton ISD), and Melinda Galler (City of Lewisville, retired) as Secretary. Also returning to the Executive Board are Treasurer Dr. Mary Curtis (UNT, retired), Community Investments Chair Josh Ashford (Consolidated Insurance Markets) and Counsel Gregory J. Sawko (Sawko & Burroughs, PC). See full board list >