Sign me up for updates. Sign up now

You are here

Volunteer Leadership

Board of Directors | Lifetime Members

2018 - 2019 Board of Directors

Comprised of volunteers from across Denton County elected to three-year terms, our Board of Directors is responsible for the governance, oversight and strategic direction of United Way of Denton County.

Executive Committee Officers

Mr. Lyle Dresher, Board Chair, District Liaison, Texas House of Representatives District 64

Mr. Brandon McCleskey, Board Chair-Elect, President, First State Bank

Mr. Gregory J. Sawko, Past Board Chair, Attorney, Sawko & Burroughs, P.C.

Ms. Debbie Smatresk, Community Investment Chair, Occupational Therapist, Retired

Ms. Micah Pazoureck, Campaign Chair, President, Low Voltage Solutions

Ms. Laura Behrens, Campaign Co-Chair, Assistant Parks Director, City of Denton Parks & Recreation

Mr. Ray Croff, Partnership Development Chair, CEO & President, MOBIUS Financial

Ms. Jo Ann Ballantine, Marketing and Communications Chair, Community Volunteer

Mr. Mark Merki, Board Treasurer, Certified Public Accountant, Merki & Associates, P.C.

Dr. Bettye Myers, Board Secretary, In Memorium, Texas Woman's University

Ms. Ellen M. Painter, Ad Hoc Chair, Community Relations - Contractor, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton



Board Members

Mr. Josh Ashford, Commercial Insurance Broker, Consolidated Insurance Markets

Ms. Ashlie Bagley, Human Resources Manager, Safran Electrical & Power 

Mr. Mike Ball, Chief Financial Officer, Lewisville ISD

Dr. Derrell Bulls, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Tony Clark, Executive Vice President & Regional CEO, Independent Bank

Ms. Mariella Cudd, Owner, Cudd Realty Inc.

Dr. Mary Curtis, Professor, Department of Accounting, University of North Texas

Dr. Sheri L. Dragoo, Professor, Program in Fashion & Textiles, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Andy Eads, County Judge, Denton County

Ms. Patrice Frisby, Director of Major Gifts, Texas Woman's University

Ms. Sharon Garrett, Vice President of Ancillary Services, Medical City Denton

Mr. Richard Godoy, Family Services Coordinator, City of Denton Police Department

Dr. Linda Holloway, Interim Associate Vice Provost, University of North Texas

Mr. Lee Howell, Chief of Police, City of Saginaw

Ms. Jacqueline Jackson, Executive Director, Denton Public School Foundation

Ms. Kit King, Community Volunteer

Mr. David Koontz, Executive Vice President Senior Credit Officer, Wells Fargo Bank

Dr. John Maduko, Vice Chancellor, North Central Texas College

Mr. Dirk Maiwald, Director of Information Technology, Peterbilt Motors Company

Mr. Ernie McCraw, Retired, Sally Beauty Holdings

Ms. Sherri McDade, CEO, Denton Housing Authority

Mr. Glen McKenzie, President & CEO, DATCU Credit Union

Dr. Teresa McKinney, Associate Vice President, University of North Texas

Ms. Janie McLeod, Community Events Coordinator, City of Denton Parks & Recreation Department

Mr. Mark Pullam, University Relations Director, Fidelity Investments

Mr. Andre "Frenchy" Rheault, Owner, Frenchy's Lawn and Tree Service

Ms. Nancie Rodems, Senior Director of Human Resources, Sally Beauty Holdings

Ms. Patricia Sherman, Vice President of Business Development, DATCU Credit Union

Mr. Scott Sherman, Group Vice President Human Resources, Sally Beauty Holdings

Ms. Debbie Smatresk, Community Volunteer

Mr. Jason Stewart, Senior Vice President, Guaranty Bank

Mr. Cardell Velez, Director, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton

Dr. Jeff Williams, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Denton

Dr. Jamie Wilson, Superintendent, Denton ISD


Lifetime Members

We proudly bestow the title of Life Member of United Way of Denton County to past board members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding board service. Our Lifetime Members listed below embody our mission, vision, and values at the highest level of improving and transforming lives throughout our community.

Dr. Dean Anthony, Community Volunteer

Mr. John Baines, Certified Public Accountant, John E. Baines, P.C.

Dr. Jack Becker, Associate Professor, Information Systems, University of North Texas

Ms. Raedean Bolton, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Dr. Ray Braswell, Retired, Superintendent, Denton ISD

Dr. Derrell Bulls, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Paul Chandler, Retired, Banker

Ms. Carol Christian, Probate Auditor/Senior Paralegal, Denton County Probate Court

Mr. Tony Clark, President, Independent Bank

Mr. Tim Crouch, The Crouch Group

Mr. Pat Dacus, Owner, Pat Dacus Insurance

Mr. Walter Eagleton, Owner, Eagleton Photography

Mr. Chuck Engle, Retired, Sally Beauty

Mr. Jerry Falbo, Senior Executive Pastor, Denton Bible Church

Mr. Phil Gallivan, Retired, Banker

Dr. Jared Hazleton, Retired, University of North Texas

Mr. George Highfill, Executive Vice President, Access 1st Capital Bank

Mr. Richard Huckaby, Instructor, North Central Texas College

Mr. Dale Kimble, Retired, DATCU Credit Union

Mr. Brett Kuhn, Banking Center President - Pilot Point, NORTHSTAR Bank of Texas

Ms. Uarline Lamb, Community Volunteer

Mr. Jim Lehman, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Ms. Mary Ann McDuff, Retired, Texas Woman's University

Mr. Stan Morton, FACHE, Chief Executive Officer, Metro Anesthesia

Ms. Ellen Painter, Retired, Community Relations - Contractor, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton

Mr. Bill Patterson, Publisher and Owner, Denton Record-Chronicle

Mr. Fred Patterson, Retired, Denton Publishing Company

Ms. Connie Pelphrey, Executive Director, Lewisville ISD Education Foundation

Mr. Fred Pole, Retired, University of North Texas

Mr. Todd Price, Senior Vice President, Lending, First United Bank

Mr. Marty Rivers, Denton Market President, American National Bank & Trust

Mr. Randy Robinson, President - Denton Market, PointBank

Ms. Priscilla Sanders, Community Volunteer, Retired - Sears, Roebuck and Company

Mr. Gregory J. Sawko, Attorney, Sawko & Burroughs, P.C.

Mr. Rob Seay, Certified Public Accountant, Hankins, Eastup, Deaton, Tonn and Seay

Ms. Carrell Ann Simmons, Retired, Banker

Mr. Dennis Stephens, Retired, Denton ISD

Ms. Joye Williams, Community Volunteer


Back to About Us